Become a Nebraska Foster Parent
More Than 3,000 Children Need You
More than 3,000 children and teens are in the Nebraska foster care system. Many of these youth have experienced abuse, neglect, or other family challenges and have been removed from their homes by the courts for their safety. Foster families provide care and support for these youth while they are in out-of-home care.
It only takes ONE caring adult to change a child’s life. Give your life a new purpose and be that change for a child in the foster care system.
- Must be 21 years of age or older
- Meet basic income guidelines
- Provide adequate bedroom space that meets local fire codes and a separate bed for each child
- Have reliable transportation
- Complete 30 hours of free training
- Agree to use non-physical discipline for children
- Be willing for everyone in your household ages 13 and older to undergo background checks
- Be willing for all licensees to be fingerprinted as part of the federal Adam Walsh Act
KVC Support for Foster Parents
- Free ongoing training and support 24/7, 365 days/year
- 24-Hour phone support
- Health insurance for a child placed in your home
- Assistance finding local resources
- A fun weekend away at our Resource Family Conference, which provides a fantastic learning experience for parents and weekend of fun for your biologic/adopted children and children in foster care
- Monthly reimbursement to meet the child’s needs plus assistance with back-to-school supplies and holiday gifts
Resources to Learn More
- Read our FAQs on the steps to become a foster parent, financial reimbursement and training requirements
- Read our blog for stories from other KVC Nebraska foster parents and educational articles
- Download our free guides for information about how to know if foster parenting is right for you and how to choose a foster parenting agency
Required Training to Become a Foster Parent
Trauma-Informed Partnering for Safety and Permanence-Model Approach to Partnerships in Parenting (TIPS-MAPP) class is required by the state of Nebraska for all foster parents. This free 10-week class is mandatory for all adults that will have a parenting role in a foster home. Throughout the course of training, our class leaders will also come to your home to complete home consultations.
TIPS-MAPP helps build skills for parenting abused and neglected children who have behavioral, emotional, physical and/or educational difficulties. It also helps the potential foster parent decide if foster parenting is right for them. For more information about TIPS-MAPP and other required training, read our Foster Parent Training FAQs.
Final Steps to Become Licensed
During training, you will be assigned a Licensing Specialist who will help you complete all paperwork and a home study. Once the required licensing paperwork and home study are complete, your Licensing Specialist will submit your home study packet to the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services for licensure. A license will be granted if all qualifications are met.
Foster to Adopt
KVC Nebraska is not an adoption agency and does not complete the legal process for private adoptions. However, we do train, support, and license foster parents interested in foster-to-adopt situations and families only interested in caring for children who are available for adoption. We also complete adoption home studies for the purpose of adopting a state ward and for private adoption situations.